turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

turning acrylic

Started by Spur806, November 14, 2015, 09:22:25 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Spur806

Hey guys, having a hard time with turning acrylic blanks. Chips really bad and melting. I don't know what I am doing wrong. I've tried everything I know and it's not working out for me. Any tips would be appreciated.  I'm not a novice turner, it's really got me baffled. Thanks matt

mmclain

Do not use a scraper

Use a 3/8 spindle gouge.  Or a 1/2 spindle gouge I've heard carbide tools work well but I don't have a need to buy one.

Keep your tools properly sharp
If you are shattering it as you remove material your taking too much off.  If your melting it your tool is dull.  If you don't have an 8" slow speed grinder and a sharpening jig you need one. 

Spur806

Thanks I'll give it a shot

mastevt

I use all carbide chiesels.  Go slow.  Shallow cuts.  Take your time.  If your throwing chips, your taking too much at a  time.
When I turn acrylic, its a continuous stream like a spider web.

Sanatorium

I use my own carbide tool and a skew chisel....need to be sharp tools that's for sure.

Sent from my SM-G900T using Tapatalk

pappy