News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Has your NY turkey season got better?

Started by NYlogbeards, May 19, 2015, 05:10:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mikejd

Quote from: WNY Bowhunter on May 22, 2015, 09:06:38 AM
I can honesty say that after spending 21 seasons in the spring turkey woods here in Steuben County, I have never called in a coyote with a turkey call or seen them stalking turkeys in the field. If I did, I would probably have to shoot it...er wait...they aren't in season... ::).  I did call a couple of coyotes in during a fall hunt several years ago and one of the little dogs paid dearly for it. IMHO, there is a far more deadly turkey predator out there that can definately impact gobbling activity and they carry shotguns...

I tend to disagree with that. I have been turkey hunting for 21 or 22 years myself now. Only in NY.
There are in my eyes no more turkey hunters. I have been hunting the same areas for about 12 years now and 10 yrs ago may 1st all the hotels bars r esteraunts  gas stations etc would have turkey hunters in them. And now if I see a truck or 2 in 10 days of hunting that's alot. When I'm up hunting I usually log in some were between 1000 and 1500 miles in a week looking for birds looking for land etc. So if I dont cross any hunters were are they. Hunters are definetly playing little impact on turkey population. First off hunters can only take 2 birds and coyote probably gets 2 a week.

WNY Bowhunter

So then, why is public land generally considered harder to hunt than private land? More coyotes I suppose?
"I'm not from New Yawk.  I'm a REDNECK from Western New York!!!"
"It's not a passion. It's an OBSESSION."

WNY Bowhunter

I attribute the lack of gobbling this season to two things:

1.) Henned up gobblers