turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Year to Year Carryover

Started by rmokeefe1s, April 06, 2015, 05:23:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rmokeefe1s

How important do you feel it is to leave a few gobblers on a given piece of ground and hope they make it to next year?
Example- 675 acres, 610 being wooded. Any given morning before season you can hear up to 8 gobblers on this piece of property. How many would you kill off this piece of property and still have confidence the following year? Do you believe other gobblers will move in as "vacancies" occur? Confident there will be enough jakes become gobblers?

Curious as to others' thoughts on this.

crenshawco

I'd kill as many as the law would allow. If you're hearing that many gobblers on a tract, it is good enough habitat where other gobblers will move in and fill the voids.

g8rvet

I have been hunting a 380 acre piece for about 10 years. I try to take 3 max (2 for me and one for son or vice versa).  Most years 1-2 is normal and I look elsewhere.  I know that last year I left 3 jakes (no gobblers seen last year) and have not seen a single gobbler this year.  But most years I knew there was at least one mature bird left.  The guys that deer hunt it give me reports on how many they see in the fall, but that does not usually translate much in the spring, but is nice to know when there is a good hatch anyways. 

I will watch this thread for some long time hunters, as I am interested in their thoughts too. 
Psalms 118v24: This is the day which the Lord hath made; we will rejoice and be glad in it.

Snoodsniper