OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

New from VA

Started by Florida Marine, March 24, 2011, 04:53:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Florida Marine

I am an active duty LtCol of Marines Floridian - stationed at Quantico VA, communications officer by trade - networks/cyber guy by experience. 

Last year was my first year turkey hunting, was warned it was addicting...and they were spot on.  I think I would give up all my deer tags for turkey if I could.  I am an avid bow hunter, but have not been bold enough to hunt for turkey with one yet.

I support and hunt with a group of folks on Quantico who bring down wounded warriors from Bethesda and Walter Reed to get them a break from the hospital and get them into the outdoors with some great guides and gear that is all donated- great organization call the Quantico Injured Military Sportsman Assoc.

I am also a avid wood worker and have picked up the call making habit after getting a lathe for Christmas.  I have made a few so far - all sound good, looks are getting better with each call.  I made and gave one to a wounded warrior yesterday, it was nice to see the how thankful he was for it. 

I am hoping to use one of my calls next week to bring in a bird for each of my kids on youth day.  Taking my daughter and son out, hoping we can roll some birds!  I have a wounded warrior that is coming out with us to call for my daughter, while I call for my son.  just gotta keep the ticks off us!

Anyway, have learned a lot just lurking the past few days.

Sean
Democracy is worth dying for, because it's the most deeply honorable form of government ever devised by man.

-Ronald Reagan

spurman

Welcome Sean, Good luck to you and yours this spring. Thank you and all warriors for your service.
Spring turkey hunting, I love it so.                FREEDOM IS NOT FREE

hookedspur

CRUSADERS