OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Rasp or no rasp?

Started by deerbasshunter3, March 22, 2015, 07:35:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

deerbasshunter3

Do you want rasp, or no rasp?

I never really hear the rasp in a turkey's yelp when I watch videos, but I am still a newbie so I may be missing it. I know what a rasp sounds like, but I just never hear it.

So, should I be looking to have some rasp in my yelps or not?

nyhunter

Well in my humble opinion a little rasp goes a long way. I personally like a medium raspy mouth call , but i also carry a clear and very raspy call in my case. All in All its more what sounds good to you

Turkeyman62

A Gobbler Yelp Spring Or Fall Is A Long Conversation..

Bowguy

Most guys subscribe to the raspier the better theory n sometimes it could be true. In the late 80s I believe it was my buddy was learning to call on a Quaker Boy twin call. It had two thin reeds, no cuts obviously. He was slurring his yeps together. Didn't sound even remotely right n he had bird after bird answer him. Enough birds in fact that I bought that call, and practiced trying to sound that bad. It was tough and they never answered me the way they did him. Anyway I believe sometimes rasp can help, sometimes a real high pitch can help, sometimes soft talking, sometimes aggressive calling. I also believe any of em could call the right bird on the right day. The "whatever" they want today and the desire to have that on you is why lots of guys carry multiple calls.

howl

I differentiate between rasp and coarse. Coarse sounds come from older birds, especially gobblers. Rasp is what I hear when a hen gets loud and urgent to the extent that the call starts to break up.

If you're trying to figure this kind of stuff out for yourself, I recommend getting Lovett Williams' CDs.

Gooserbat