turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Mouth call maintenance

Started by alclark2, May 04, 2014, 03:06:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

alclark2

I've been chasing turkeys for 5 years now. I could never get the mouth call to work! I've tried on and off. My cousin bought me a few from a custom call maker in Indiana. I decided I'd make a good effort to learn. I've been running around for the last week with a call in my mouth. I DID IT!!! I didn't think it would be possible.

Anyway, I bought a few cheap calls to hear different cuts and what they sound like. Now, what do I need to do to maintain them? What is the life expectancy of a mouth call?  Any other information I should know about mouth calls?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Hoosier Hunt n Fish

WV Ridge Reaper

Marc

WV Ridge Reaper,

Great video...

I was just going to post the same question...  My calls tend to last about a season, even though I store them inside, inside a case...

I will be giving this a try this season to see if I cannot make those calls last another season or two.
Did I do that?

Fly fishermen are born honest, but they get over it.

Terry

Storing them in the fridge, I get 2-3 seasons out of mine.

Jbird22

Best way I have found is to:

- Rinse them with water (ensuring water is getting between each reed) when you get home from hunting.
- Shake them just enough to remove excess water.
- Put them in the freezer until you're ready to use them again.