OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Repair work

Started by selinoid44, March 27, 2013, 06:29:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

selinoid44

For the 5 yrs or so that I have building calls I have had one call come back broken. A guy tripped and fell, cracked his slate. He to me brought it back to me for repair. He was suprised when I fixed it for nothing. I had a little time in it and the cost of the slate but I have a return customer and a mouth that pushes my calls. How do you handle repairs?

'Flush Draw' Calls
Charlie Louthain
574-527-9785

TarheelTurk

I have been building em for around  3 years now ( much THANKS to several of you guys here) and I have the same policy as you. I stress to every customer to PLEASE let me know if anything happens to call and I will do what I can to fix/ repair it.
Grandads Advice : "Sometimes its better to be quit and be thought a fool than to speak and remove all doubts" LOL

lightsoutcalls

I fix any surface that breaks, not due to user error, at no charge.  If the customer tells me "I sat on the call and heard it crack" or "I was crawling in a creek bed and heard the call crack" or "I know I was only supposed to use an alcohol swab on my aluminum call, but I sanded it and now I can't get it to sound right"...  I'll replace the surface, but at the cost of the customer.  Humidity happens, and glass surfaces will sometimes crack.  I take the hit on those and replace them at no cost.  Most people know if they damaged the call.  If a slate has a dime sized hole punched through the surface... likely that was not a naturally occurring event or maker error.  Most folks who have knowingly broken a call surface don't have a problem paying for the surface, shipping and a few dollars to cover the time of the callmaker to get their call back in working order.