turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

What's up in the South???

Started by marshboy, March 21, 2013, 10:17:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

marshboy

I'm new to the turkey hunting game, so help me understand.  Why are thread after thread from AL and MS filled with reports of gobblers not gobbling?
It was my understanding that the photoperiod dictates the breeding activities.  Is breeding going on?  Are the birds still in winter groups?  Are the birds so henned up they don't have to gobble?
Any input would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Greg

RemingtonRules

Gobbling attracts hens and predators.  When they have plenty of hens why gobble.  They usually don't gobble on the ground as they are let's say busy.  I have seen a turkey drum on a limb and fly down with his hens.  I have seen them gobble one time on a limb have their 15 hens fly down first.  He then flew down and immediately went into strut never saying another word. 

Also, turkeys are like cats they do what they want when they want to and there is no pattern to it.

savduck

My experience this weekend is that the all groups just started breaking up earlier last week. Usually when this occurs there is lots of fighting between gobblers. Dominant birds separate the other gobblers out of the flock and gather their hens. So...sub dominant gobblers are hesitant to gobble because they have had their  butts whipped. Yelping hens means dominant gobblers around that would whip them, so they lurk around and stay quiet.

The dominant birds stay roosted with the hens. They  have no need to gobble to attract hens because they are already with them. They will drum on the tree branch and on the ground. Even though they are with the hens doesn't mean hens are ready to breed so the gobblers follow them around and Strutt all the time.