OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Two lumber questions for you ...

Started by TarheelTurk, March 17, 2013, 02:00:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TarheelTurk

First sorry I been looking and commenting jus hasn't posted here in a while ... My first question is has anyone had any experience using Cypress for pot calls ? Is it soft like cedar or harder type wood ?

A local guy w/ a saw mill has some ( rough cut ) he is asking $2and some change per board ft. , I don't understand "board foot" so any help is greatly appreciated Thanks ...Jason
Grandads Advice : "Sometimes its better to be quit and be thought a fool than to speak and remove all doubts" LOL

Onpoint

Cypress is very hard. I climb and trim trees for a living and cypress is so hard that I can't even hardly get my spikes to dig into it.

RickC

I've seen a formula somewhere thats used to figure board feet prices. I'll check a couple sites I would have come across it at and post it here.
Blessings,
Rick

RickC

Found it, I hope.
The one I found im my notes is (T x W x L) รท 12 x price
Blessings,
Rick

justturnin

A board foot is 12"x12"x1" = 144cuin

So a pot call being 4x4x1=16cuin.  Take the 16/144 = .111board feet. So you can get, in theory, 9 pot call blanks out of 1 board foot.
Chris B
Klein, TX
Home of the Yin-Yang Custom Cast Call.  PM me for details

BOB_HARWELL

2" X 8" X 8',,, 2X8 = 16 X 96 = 1536 divided by 144 = 10.6 board feet.

Bob

TarheelTurk

Ok I see now , THANK y'all a bunch, the gentleman quickly tried explaining it on the phone but I couldn't completely get what he was saying, but seeing it written out makes sense, a thanks for letting me know that cypress is that hard , may still try a few to see what it sounds like Thanks again, Jason
Grandads Advice : "Sometimes its better to be quit and be thought a fool than to speak and remove all doubts" LOL