OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Wood finish or sealer?

Started by MG150, March 06, 2013, 01:04:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MG150

Thinking of ordering some box call and pot call kits from Brookside Game Calls.Unemployed at this time just looking for something to do.Do you callmakers use some type of wood finish or sealer on the outside of box lids and pot calls?I have no knowledge of woodworking skills.Any help would be appeciated!Thanks,MG

lightsoutcalls

You can, and should, apply finish to the top of a box call paddle, but not the underside.  You also should apply finish to the inside and outside of a pot call, but not on the surfaces where you will glue a soundboard and the surface. 
I am currently using Deft liquid sanding sealer to seal the grain (first coat) and then Deft gloss spray lacquer for about 4 thin coats, drying between coats.  You will probably want to sand lightly between coats with 600 grit sandpaper or steel wool.  This is just to knock down any grit or rough spots between coats.  It is not a full sanding of the call.  You should be able to tell by the feel of the finish between coats.  Hit the "high spots".  ;)
Lights Out custom calls - what they're dying to hear!

SS Calls

MG150

Cervinae

Is there anything wrong with using minwax stains? Apply with a cloth or sponge brush?

lightsoutcalls

If I were to use the minwax stains, I would apply with a soft rag.  Old t-shirts are great, or good quality paper towels.  I use some colored stains that have a denatured alcohol base.  I actually prefer to dip my calls in this stain, but it is not oil based.  Aside from the colored stains, I prefer the natural wood.

Cervinae