turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Mossberg 835 ultra mag.

Started by rhino .695, February 27, 2013, 10:58:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rhino .695

I just got the mossberg 835 ultra mag from my boss ,i put a 625 rhino ported choke tube on it .Has ported barrel was just wondering if that will release too much pressure?I have yet to fire it since the new choke has been put on.I also just picked up a mossberg 600ct 20ga. ,it is full fixed choke .Would this make a good turkey gun?I am new to hunting and decided to hunt turkeys .I have about 50 acres that my boss is letting me hunt on.I have a soybean field on one side and a corn field on the other with woods behind the fields.

davisd9

I have never heard of a .625 choke for a 835, that is tight for a remington or other guns.  Mossberg 835/935 has an overbored barrel that is equivalent to a 10 ga.  My opinion is you to open that thing up, way up.  Most here get their best patterns around .675.  I would go with a Pure Gold, SumToy, or Indian Creek.  I personally would get rid of a .625, are you sure that is not a typo?
"A turkey hen speaks when she needs to speak, and says what she needs to say, when she needs to say it. So every word a turkey speaks is for a reason." - Rev Zach Farmer

TrackeySauresRex

Quote from: davisd9 on February 28, 2013, 07:57:35 AM
I have never heard of a .625 choke for a 835, that is tight for a remington or other guns. I personally would get rid of a .625, are you sure that is not a typo?

X-1
"If You Call Them,They Will Come."

Skeeterbait