OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

box call lids

Started by twinters, February 15, 2013, 07:02:49 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

twinters

hey guy's,I  am making a few box calls,and would like some advice on shaping the lids.I am new to this,but really enjoy doing it,but for the life of I just can't seem to get it rite.is there a jig you can buy or is there a certain way any of you do it.I have made some nice boxes,and I can take lids off boxes I have bought,and they sound great,but when I put mine on there they sound horrible.

VanHelden Game Calls

Use a bench belt sander.  There is no trick, or perfect shape you need to master.  Some makers have a perfect radius, some like it a little flatter on the top radius.  If your liking how the built lids are sounding take note of the wood, thickness, and radius. 

From there its practice building and jigging if it easier for you.

You need to hold a consistent straight profile along the length, any low spots will cause headaches as you stroke the call.

magnoliagamecalls

You can make you block (gives you something to hold onto) then use two sided tape and tape the lid to the block the use a belt sander. I have used a vise clamped the block of wood screwed the paddle to the block then belt sanded the shape.

twinters

thanks for your replies,I guess you just don't get it right the first few times,I have always wanted to kill a turkey using a call I made with my own two hands.I will practice until I get it right.

cypresscreek