turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

one piece or two piece strikers?

Started by scoot12, February 27, 2011, 11:01:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

scoot12

Does everyone have a preference on which one they like to use?  I am no expert but see really no difference between the two.

Eric Gregg

I have a couple of two piece strikers and one 1 piece striker.
A couple of things effect the tone;
1. The type of wood the striker is made of.
2. In the case of a two piece, the type of top that is on the striker: I have a walnut striker with a corncob top that is sweet music on my slate call.
3. The type of "tip" that is on the striker: is it rounded or "mushroom" rounded on the bottom: my one piece has a flatter, mushroom shape on the bottom.  It yelps really well and produces really sharp clucks, even on slate.

I believe that the three things listed above play a little more into factor of the sound than if the striker is one or two piece.  ;)

VanHelden Game Calls

1 or 2 pc does not matter IMO.

Weight
Balance
Density of wood.

Getting the right combination of these makes all the difference.  And of course each hunter has there own preference.  Especially in the balance, all how they use and play the striker.

I have found determining the balance point % to be a great way to determine playability of the striker.  And a good way to make a striker for a particular person.  

If you get board look up "determining front of center".  Archers use it to get specific balance of arrows.   The same formula works on strikers.  Then grab a bunch of strikers and I think you will notice there is a window of FOC that works best for you.   And knowing this you can buy correct strikers and fix strikers because you know what needs to be done.

And thats why for me I like building 2 pc.  I can dial that striker right into my FOC.

Just my 2 cents.

pappy