OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Tube call measurements

Started by C W, February 17, 2012, 07:56:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

C W

I am new to making turkey calls. I have been turning for awhile. I am sure there are alot of variables, but is there a place I can find the measurements for making a turkey tube call.
Thanks

TRKYHTR

I can tell you mt measurements. I start with a piece that is 3" long and 1.75 round. I drill a 1" hole for the mouthpiece end and a 1 1/8" hole for the bell end. I usually drill mine with a baffle so I don't drill all the way thru. I leave a 1/4" not drilled and then drill a 3/8" hole thru the middle. Then I turn the outside to my design. Oh I forgot that I use 1 end to shave off an 1/8" piece for the lipstop before I drill the holes. Good luck I hope this helps.

TRKYHTR
RIP Marvin Robbins

[img]http://i261.photobuck

C W

handcannon