OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

HTL prices are going crazy.

Started by 3" 870 Shell Shucker, February 09, 2012, 07:18:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

3" 870 Shell Shucker

I visited a local hunting supply store this afternoon.

Last year, Magnum Blend was @$23 for 3", and @$26 for 3.5", and they sold out.

They just got a new supply in.  $32 for 3", and $37 for 3.5".

I'm expecting the local demand to cool down a little at those prices.

On the Reloading forum, it was recently posted that 7 pounds of loose hevishot pellets will now cost you $230.  Not counting shipping, that's @$4.11 per 2 ounce shell.

The Lead forum may pick up some new members.

Gunman1013

I am new to HTL this year. Just for grins I shot some 3.5" lead #6 (Federal I think) out of my SBE2 last week. Very decent pattern. Bought 3 boxes of Mag Blend 3" for my M2.  Drop some bucks but I am not complaining. Thankful to have the privilege.

deerslayer357

Yep!

I am trying to find a load my 20 likes so that I can stock up on them!
Thankfully, I got plenty for my 12 already!

chatterbox

It's pretty wild I have to say, and it's only gonna get more expensive.

Neill_Prater

Bass Pro is still $19.99 for the 3 inch blends. I picked up another box at the Springfield store this afternoon, and probably should have bought a couple more.

reynolds243

Quote from: chatterbox on February 09, 2012, 08:14:43 PM
It's pretty wild I have to say, and it's only gonna get more expensive.

see that is were i tend to disagree to a point. At some level the price will out weight the demand for MOST hunters.

I mean really if it gets up to 40 or so a vast majority of hunters will just find alternative shells to shoot and eventually Hevi-shot will have to decide what they do in the turkey shell world. I mean at some point the cost effects demand so much the company starts to lose.