OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Hevi 13 #5

Started by chad fenton, February 05, 2012, 08:04:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

chad fenton

I dont know much about these HTL loads but I saw som hevi 13 #5 I think they were 1 5/8 oz for $15 and some change for a box of 5.  I think that is cheap but not sure. I shoot a maverick with a puregold .670.  The choke is brand new .  Do yall think it will handle 5's well.  I think it will do good but just wanted some more advice.  I may buy several boxes.

bbcoach

Chad,
I shoot the PG .670 in my 835 and it loves the 7's.  Deep clean and polish the barrel and try the 7's, you won't be disappointed.  By the way, do you work at the FRC?

chad fenton

Todd1700

Chad I am far from an expert on all things related to hevi shot but here's my two cents. I see no reason to shoot any DTL shot larger than 6's. Will the individual pellets of a DTL number five retain killing energy farther than a number 6 DTL pellet. Yes. But I doubt seriously if your gun will hold a killing pattern with them out there far enough to take advantage of that fact. 6's will out pattern the 5's and usually by a wide margin. 

Old Gobbler

The pellet pattern will thin out long before the energy of the #5 wears out

:wave:  OG .....DRAMA FREE .....

-Shannon

hookedspur

Quote from: Spuriosity on February 05, 2012, 09:04:42 AM