OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

some pointers needed

Started by BigGobbler, December 22, 2011, 10:49:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

BigGobbler

OK i am new at this and am looking for some pointers on what to look for in a lathe to make pot calls. I now there is lathes out there you can buy cheap and some that are high priced. My wife says I can get one but stay under 500 bucks. Is that possible and not get something I will regret buying and later wishing I spent the extra 100 bucks and got something else with more toys on it. There is so many options some use full some not to what you can get on them I have no idea what to look for and who better to ask than you all that use them everyday to do the same thing. any suggestions would help a lot.

lightsoutcalls

I would suggest taking a look at the Jet lathes and Rikon lathes.  I have 2 Jet variable speed mini-lathes and have turned a couple thousand calls and more strikers between the two.  They are great machines at a fair price.  They are heavy and produce minimal vibration, allowing you to set them on top of a sturdy workbench without mounting them with screws. 
I would suggest looking into a variable speed lathe for convenience.
Lights Out custom calls - what they're dying to hear!

kenturkey89

I'm not an expert on lathes by any means but I have a JET 1014 mini indexing lathe that was under $500 and it's a quality machine.  JET makes excellent lathes, as well as other companies like Grizzly and Rikon, but I only own the JET and I would definitely recommend it!
Brian

misfire

I, like most others, started out with a cheap lathe and then progressed to the Jet variable speed mini lathe. I wish I had just gone straight to the Jet. I also would lvoe to have the Delta midi, but its a little more expensive, but has a stronger motor with a reverse on it