turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

100-200-300-400 in the 10 " circle

Started by R AJ, February 15, 2011, 07:34:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

hobbes

10" circle..............I'd never even heard of a shooting a 10" circle until I came here.   We taped a turkey head target to a box at 40 and counted the number of holes in the birds kill zone then went out and killed turkeys.  I knew that I needed a good pattern to kill a turkey, that was common sense.  I had also shot a shotgun enough to know that the reason I was shooting shotshells was to make it easier to hit the target, especially if it's moving.  If I wanted a single projectile, like I did for squirrels, I shot a 22 rifle.

Nothing wrong with improving the pattern, but don't try to sell me on its necessary beyond reason.

Boomstick

ok, im new to turkey hunting, but not new to hunting or shooting. when im at the range shooting, i shoot a turkey target. i am more worried about the 10 or 15 pellets consistently hitting the head and neck than i am about the number of holes outside of the head and neck. of course i understand that a turkey is a live animal and not a piece of paper, and that animals move, and i also check the consistency around the head and neck and i might not have more than a hundred, but they are always dense enough that at least 10 pellets are gonna hit the head and neck for up to 6 inches to the left or right.

jmo
charlie
"Good... Bad... Im the guy with the gun" Ash from army of darkness

Ctomp1974

I have personally shot plenty of paper, bought numerous chokes, and spent enough on turkey loads to buy another turkey gun. Sounds ridiculous right! The benefits of all this is simply that I have pretty good idea what my gun will do at any given yardage. I ended up choosing what works best for me.