North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

Randy’s hunt log

Started by randy6471, April 02, 2024, 07:08:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

randy6471

March 15, 2024
Season opens here in Florida tomorrow and I'm ready to go. I'm very lucky to have a friend with some turkey hunting ground and I've been hunting here with him for many years. It's not a large piece of ground (300 acres), so we're careful how we hunt it and we're usually pretty successful.
  We know from preseason scouting that there aren't as many turkeys on the property as usual, but still there are turkey around and it should be fun.

March 16, 2024
  Opening morning was slow as it was pretty foggy and the gobbling was sparse. I heard 2 different gobblers, but they were a long way off and probably off of the property, so I wasn't in a hurry to go after them. I hung around the area for an hour or so and finally moved off in the direction of the gobblers that I heard earlier. I moved to the back property to glass a small pasture on the neighbors property. I spotted a nice gobbler strutting with 2 hens about 150 yards away, so I set up and started working on them. It took well over an hour, but eventually I was able to pull the hens, so of course the gobbler followed and finally I had the gobbler at 35 yards with the safe off and red dot on his head. The only problem was that they were on the "wrong" side of the fence, so I had to let him walk away. That's the agreement here...call them across the fence and they're fair game, but don't shoot over the fence. Oh well.

March 17, 2024
  I went right back to the same spot the next day and heard 3 different gobblers on roost, so I moved in and set up on the closest gobbler. It was pretty much a "traditional" gobbler hunt. He gobbled a few times after flydown and it took about 15-20 minute to work him into gun range for a shot.

March 18-20, 2024