News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Kentucky WMA's

Started by PoorMansWrangler, March 28, 2024, 09:03:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

PoorMansWrangler

Hey everyone,
Decided to try my first out of state hunt this year, planning on heading to Kentucky from Ohio. Went down to a couple WMA's this past Monday and did some scouting. Heard a few birds, saw a few, and found some sign. Was hoping to bounce a couple of questions off people if possible.

Any ideas on the pressure these WMA's get, particularly on opener? We have a decent drive, and will get there as early as needed, but if there are going to be 20 trucks in the lot behind us, we may re think our strategy. We targeted one area that seems to have limited spots for vehicles, and a gate at the entrance, but there are other access points that could make it get western.

Also, this is my first time hunting hill country of any kind. Terrain at these WMA's seems to be primarily ridges that are more open, with thicker bottoms. Bottoms seem to thick for turkeys to use, but not sure. Typically will the turkeys roost on the ridges and pitch down to the bottoms, or vice versa?

Finally, there is an unmaintained road/logging trail that cuts lengthwise alongside of one of the areas we looked at. We found some tracks alongside the road, will turkeys walk these roads? We were thinking about trying to get close to a roosted bird but setting up alongside the road since it is more open, and we found tracks on on the road.

Appreciate all the help, and I am sure I will have more questions as season comes closer. Feel free to pm me as well if that's easier, not trying to burn any spots up 

RemingtonRules

I would rethink your strategy

ScottTaulbee