OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Is there a diaphragm that will do it All?

Started by bbcoach, January 26, 2024, 12:32:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bbcoach

I've been reading tons of articles, watching videos and checking OG posts on diaphragm calls and it has me asking myself, does anyone make a call that will do it ALL?  Everything I've read or watched via YouTube, tells me NO.  I've been buying and practicing, for about 10 years now, calls that will kill turkeys but none that will yelp, cluck, cutt, purr, whine, whistle, and kee kee in one call.  Most calls that I've tried will do the basics, but I have to change to something else to get a kee kee or get a quality purr and do the soft stuff.  I've recently went away from small split v cuts and ghost cuts and went to a radically deeper cut call and believe I have found a call that will do it All for me.  Do you have a diaphragm (you don't have to name it), that will do it all or do you need multiple calls to get it done?         

g8rvet

Great question.  I have a commercial reed, a beginner call with no splits and get the higher pitched and the soft stuff really well. KeeKee has called in jakes in the fall (but they are dumb, so not sure that means I am all that great).  I have been thinking about trying  more variety calls as well for some different sounds.  My purr is not great unless very very quiet. I tend to mostly use a diaphragm as a finisher, but have killed birds with it as a primary and I think I am going to try some other versions. 

One question I have is what makes a custom maker's calls better than production calls??  It looks so simple I don't really understand.
Psalms 118v24: This is the day which the Lord hath made; we will rejoice and be glad in it.

bbcoach