OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

The White Whale …

Started by davisd9, September 20, 2023, 02:29:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

davisd9

Have always claimed that I was not much of a collector but a hunter. Well I still lean that way but getting harder and harder to convince myself that there is not a little bit of a collector in me. I have been messing with trumpet calls since around 2013 or so. A mentor of mine used one for mainly tree calling so I had to have one. Bought a Joe Slaton English Walnut with corian mouth piece. My next call with a Billy Buice 6" Osage with push in 3 and 4 mouthpiece, at this point I was hooked. As the journey has gone on I have pretty much identified call makers I prefer and stick to buying their calls. I always enjoy trying new ones at Unicoi and pick up a couple that just cannot be left on the table. You never know who is hunting around you and you never want them to have a really good call.

Over the years I have had and have a few white whales that I am trying to locate. Most of these white whales are what I feel are pieces in trumpet call history, nothing close to what someone like Mr. Ellis would have, but calls I would love to take to the woods.

I was fortunate to catch one of my white whales recently by finding a Kenny Pedelahore wingbone. Was so much fun to finally get one and hunt with it after being on the lookout for a few years.

Some white whales I am still chasing are a Rev Farmer call, a Billy Buice flat top 5-1/2", and an older Frank Cox trumpet, the slimmer design.  I doubt I catch many if any of these white whales but that will not stop me from looking and dreaming.

Anyway, what are your white whales? Does not have to be something crazy rare or overly expensive? Just what is that call that you just want to put your hands on?