OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Where did they go?

Started by 357MAGNOLE, April 16, 2023, 08:24:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

357MAGNOLE

Long story short. I have been hunting Turkey for the past 8 years and still learning every year.  This is the first season that I have been able to spend A LOT of time in the woods (I usually get a couple Saturdays a season and that is it.)  I also got on a lease for the first time. Georgia started the season a little later this year as some of you know.  The weeks prior to the season start I could not ride the roads on the lease without seeing Tom and Hen tracks everywhere.  Over the past week the tracks have started getting more and more spread apart and less Tom sign as well. I went out today and spent the entire day covering the roughly 2500-acre lease, we had rain yesterday so I wanted to see if there was any fresh sign. I slowly cruised the entire property and not a single track on the roads. 

So my question is, at a certain time in the season do the Hens start heading for the thicker brush for nesting spots and the Toms follow, or has the pressure pushed them into more isolated areas? In your experience does the season slow down at a certain point and ever bounce back or once it slows down does it just continue to slow?

I find it strange how quiet the birds on this property have been this year. I have seen multiple toms strutting down logging roads, I have had jakes come into my setup, and hens too, and none of them made a single sound. I have heard exactly one gobble in 3 weeks.
"The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are willing to work and give to those who would not."--Thomas Jefferson

squidd

I bumped a hen off the nest on the opener in SE GA. 

Others told me the Toms were going crazy for two weeks prior to opener.