News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Trumpet Playing The Journey

Started by Greg Massey, March 28, 2023, 11:49:31 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Spring Creek Calls

Quote from: Spring Creek Calls on March 29, 2023, 09:26:32 AM
My path has been fairly short so far as I recently started playing the trumpet game. Bought a used 2017 Lewis Inzer osage trumpet a couple years ago and practiced on and off with it for a year. Decided last year to give it a try in the woods. After a couple days of chasing public land out of state gobblers around some high ridges and multiple close encounters, I pulled out the trumpet and was able to draw out a near perfect 4 or 5 note yelp when I knew they were within hearing. 3 mature toms crested the small rise between us within a couple minutes and one stayed with me. I now have 2 trumpets (Greg Gwaltney) and a Black Falcon on it's way. Got a feeling there will be more.
Pic

Sent from my SM-T510 using Tapatalk

2014  SE Call Makers Short Box 2nd Place
2017  Buckeye Challenge Long Box 5th Place
2018  Mountain State Short Box 2nd Place
2019  Mountain State Short Box 1st Place
2019  NWTF Great Lakes Scratch Box 4th Place
2020 NWTF GNCC Amateur 5th Place Box
2021 Mountain State 3rd Place Short Box
2021 SE Callmakers 1st & 2nd Short Box
E-mail: gobblez@aol.com

EZ

Quote from: fordhunt on March 28, 2023, 09:49:37 PM
Greg, hard to believe you're just now getting in to air operated calls ,let the fun begin this spring. I've been a air type caller for 35+yrs one thing I can tell you definitely don't have to be the best caller to make that bird respond,its just something different to the bird .some people don't use a lip stop ,I myself play a call way better with one .hope you have a great season this year hunting a Air call ..