News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

New to Diaphragm Calls

Started by TyFlyer, March 06, 2023, 02:29:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TyFlyer

Hello,
Thanks in advance for reading this post.

I'm new to diaphragm calls and am looking for recommendations on calls that have worked well for you. I know this will vary wildly as diaphragm calls are very personal and your God given abilities affect will help or hinder how well you run the call.

Looking for a consensus to pick up a few calls to try for myself. Sadler is one that caught my eye in some posts here.

Thanks again

Big Jeremy

Lots of people make good ones. Regardless of who you get them from (Sadler McGraw and Gooserbat (Sam) are both on here and make good diaphragms), get several different cuts (right cuts, left cuts, center cuts, no cuts) and see what you like. Then run them like crazy. See what you can make the most consistent sounds with.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Lone Star Eastern

I learned on a Woodhaven Ghost. Not sure if that's the best for beginners necessarily, but it worked for me.

HS 2.5 cut was something I bought as a backup from Academy one day, and I could not make it sound good. I added a diagonal cut to the uncut side, and it now sounds much better.  May be my flow of air does cross the factory cut side, but I'm no expert.

If you have any sort of commute, the truck is a good place to practice with Primos How To pulled up on YouTube.

Good luck!

Sir-diealot

You can buy some very fairly priced calls from several of the makers here and they will all be willing to help you out. Buy some cheaper ones of each cut first and find out what ones work best for you, not every cut is for everyone and there is no sense buying some high end call that is not going to work for you. Once you figure it out then get the higher end stuff from these guys on the forum.