turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Semi-auto vs. Pump - Recoil

Started by JUGHEAD, June 09, 2011, 10:56:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

JUGHEAD

I was reading the 870 post and didn't want to highjack so I just thought I would start another one.  Based upon what I was reading in that post about everybody talking about a 3.5" 870 and/or a 3.5" 835 rattling teeth fillings loose, I was just curious why more folks don't buy semi-autos for turkey hunting?  Seems like most everybody ends up going with the old reliable pumps.  I'm new to turkey hunting and have only shot a few 3.5" rounds, but I've done a TON of slug shooting out of pump slug guns (Mossy, Remmy, and Ithaca) and it is brutal to say the least.  Knowing good and well that I was gonna want the most pellets I could throw at a turkey, I didn't hesitate to start shopping gas autoloaders immediately once I knew that I was nuts over this turkey hunting.  I ended up buying the 935, and I know it's still gonna be brutal to shoot, but it ain't gonna be as brutal as an 835 or 870 for sure.  Even though I'm not even sure it it's gonna fit, I also went ahead and bought a Knox recoil reducing stock (ran across a deal I couldn't pass up) the other day for a Mossy and bought it as well.  If it will fit the 935, I'm gonna use it too.  Just curious why so many folks end up settling on pumps when it's really not that much more money (over a lifetime) for a semi-auto?  Have people been burned by reliability (or lack thereof) of ejecting turkey shells?  Seems like some of these ultra hot turkey shells can cause jamming problems, regardless of what kind of gun you have.    

Please let it be known that I am not even REMOTELY bashing pumps.  I'm a huge pump fan and own 1 or 12.  ;D

goblr77