OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Killed my biggest to date this morning

Started by ScottTaulbee, April 24, 2021, 11:55:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ScottTaulbee

I've killed less turkey than some, I'm 26 and this year makes me 20 years at it, I'm completely self taught, I've killed my limit of 2 here in KY for 16 years now, and called in anywhere from 2 to 5 for others every year. I'm saying this as kind of a back story. This has been my first year hunting mountains in eastern ky, I grew up hunting northeastern KY in the hills, I wanted a new challenge so I took to the mountains. This morning on some public land I heard a gobbler with a deep, rattling gobble on the mountain I chose to hunt, across the valley on the other mountain there were 2 or 3 long beards gobbling and a couple jakes. I set up around 200 yards from him on the roost, he was down the side of the mountain and I went to the top above him. I gave a couple soft tree yelps and then stopped calling him. There is a old logging road running up the mountain and I figured he'd use it to come up and strut, so I positioned myself around a bend in it so he'd have to hunt me. In the typical fashion he didn't and came up a ridge to the right of me when I expected him to come to the left and hung up where I couldn't see him. He stood on this ridge at what sounded like 80 to 100 yards and gobbled his head off for around 20 minutes, I turned my head and gave a couple yelps on my Gosey trumpet back behind me. No sooner than I turned around I heard leaves crunching like a herd of squirrels running, I got my gun up and the next thing I knew he was in the road running tight down. I shot him still running to me at 26 yards.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ScottTaulbee